Swine Transportation & Hunting Laws
The links below contain important information for those who transport hogs. The law now requires that swine transported on North Carolina highways have “official identification approved by the State Veterinarian”. For most folks, that will be the “brite” ear tags supplied by the State Veterinarian’s office. These tags are being provided free of charge, along with a tag applicator.
This law actually went into effect on October 1, 2011; however, there was a grace year to allow producers to become knowledgeable about the law and to get an approved means of identification for their transported hogs. If you haven’t done so already, hog producers who will be transporting hogs need to get ready for October 1, 2012, when the penalties will start being enforced. As of that day, hogs being transported without brite tags, approved tattoo numbers, or approved ear notches will be considered feral hogs. Violators will face a fine of $5,000 for each hog being transported that does not have identification. To get your supply of “brite” tags and applicator, call the NCDA&CS State Veterinarian’s office at (919) 733-7601. A veterinary technician will deliver the tags and applicator to your farm, as they will be verifying that you are indeed raising hogs. The links are:
Temporary rules that allow hunting coyotes and feral swine at night with a light on private lands went into effect Aug. 1, 2012. Night hunting is one means of controlling localized populations of coyotes and feral swine, both of which are non-native to North Carolina and destructive to the landscape, livestock, and domestic animals.
The feral swine rule will supersede the permit the Commission previously required to hunt swine at night. These rules do not grant access to any property. Landholders must grant permission for anyone to enter private property lawfully. There is no authorization for night hunting feral swine and coyotes on public lands at this time.
The N.C. Rules Review Commission approved these temporary rules July 19, 2012. The temporary rules will remain in effect for up to 270 days, during which time the NC Wildlife Commission will pursue permanent rules. The new regulations are year-round, seven days a week. Hunting on Sundays is allowed only on private lands and only with archery equipment.
Please contact Diana Rashash, Area Specialized Agent – Natural Resources, if you have questions at (910) 455-5873.
Care to tell us why? Send Explanation